Credit: Anon. - QMU


The Queen Margaret Union (QMU) election results were announced just after 10pm last night.

President: Priya Khindria

Vice-President (Membership, Clubs & Societies): Una Marie Darragh

Vice-President (Board of Management): Mata Durkin

Campaigns & Charities Convenor: Emily Rose

Events Convenor: Cameron Logan

Publications Convenor: Clare Patterson

Social Convenor: Maggie Brunker

Current Student Representative A: Mitchell Welsh, Charles Sherrington, Priyanka Chandi

Current Student Representative B: Kelly MacArthur

1st Year Current Student Representative B: Daniel Donoher

Former Student Member: Julia Catherine Mark

There were some complications after some online votes had to be discounted owing to technical difficulties. However, it was explained that although this changed the margins, it did not severely impact the results.

Following the results, outgoing QMU President Jack Smith stated: "This is the first year that we have used online voting and, as anticipated, it has led to our highest level of turnout in years in numerical terms. We also saw 25% of our members vote in the election, which sits at well above the national average for a Student Union election, so we are absolutely delighted with that.

"We are looking forward now to the handover period, and it is good to see that both ourselves and the [Students' Representative Council] will be handing over to an all female executive for next year."

Presidential candidates breakdown:

Priya Khindria after the fifth count received 304 votes.

Megan Davies received after the fifth count 255 votes.

Nour El-Issa received after the fourth count 163 votes.

Anya Owens received after the third count 87 votes.

Peter Dobbins received after the second count 59 votes.

There were 14 votes to reopen nominations.

Similar posts

No related posts found!