By Hannah McNeill and Euan McTear

The winners of the SRC spring elections have been announced, with the most important position of SRC President being won by Breffni O'Connor.

O'Connor saw off competition from Donald Mackay, Owen Mooney and Naomi Duffy-Welsh to win by 1288 votes. She replaces Jess McGrellis as SRC President after McGrellis stood uncontested in last year's elections.

The SRC Vice Presidents will be Gin Masiulyte elected as VP Student Activites with 1081 votes, Cal Davies elected as VP Education with 870 votes and Liam King as VP Student Support with 1122 votes.

11 candidates in total were in the running for the four sabbatical positions this year, after Katrina Durie dropped out of the running for VP Student Support at the start of this week. Unlike in last year's elections, all four positions were contested this year.

Voting took place today and yesterday, with the familiar campaigning being seen across campus as all candidates looked to secure every vote possible.

Election results are as follows:

President: Breffni O'Connor

VP Student Activities: Gin Masiulyte

VP Education: Cal Davies

VP Student Support: Liam King

UG Convenor for Science and Engineering: Catherine Vallis

UG Convenor for Social Sciences: Marvin Karrasch

PG Convenor – Science and Engineering: Moses Igninosa

PG Convenor – Social Sciences: Ariel Xu

Charities, Clubs & Societies Officer: Dominyka Bacanskaite

Gender Equality Officer: Hannah Gower

Environmental Officer: Luke Evans

Race Equality Officer: Yasmine Abdel

Sexual Orientation Equality Officer:  Hannah Curley

Students with Disabilities Officer: Una Marie Darragh

School Representative – Computing Science: Alexander Morgan

School Representative – Culture and Creative Arts: Georgina Davies

School Representative – Education: Sarah Long

School Representative – Engineering: Chris Triantafyllou

School Representative – Geographical and Earth Sciences: Paul Smith

School Representative – Humanities: Sarah Macdonald

School Representative – Law: Chris Glendinning

School Representative – Modern Languages and Culture: Gemma Gratton

School Representative – Physics and Astronomy: Claudette Alfonso

School Representative – Psychology: Nicola McGuire

School Representative – Social and Political Sciences: Cathy Steeghs

School Representative – Veterinary Medicine: Lucy Taylor, Sarah Krumrie & Terri Steel

While 72% of positions were uncontested or unfilled last spring, that number fell to 67% for this round of elections.

Similar posts

No related posts found!