Ameer Ibrahim elected SRC president


Ameer Ibrahim has been elected president of the Glasgow University Student Representative Council by a margin of just 18 votes, beating UnaMarie Darragh and Ellen Morton. Ibrahim received a total of 1561 votes, Darragh received 1543 and Morton 227.

Mhairi Harris was elected VP (Student Activities), Kate Powell for VP (Education) and Erin Ross for VP (Student Support).

The following candidates were also elected to the Student Representative Council:

Undergraduate Convenors

  • UG Arts College Convenor: Jenny Benson
  • UG Science and Engineering Convenor: Alex Pancheva
  • UG Social Sciences College Convenor: Jan Vlcek

Postgraduate Convenors

  • PG MVLS College Convenor: Bob Rooney

Welfare and Equal Opportunities Officers

  • Charities, Clubs and Societies Officer: Pritasha Kariappa
  • Disability Equality Officer: Lauren “Shoogle” McDougall
  • Environmental Officer: Chris Holdsworth
  • Gender Equality Officer: Thais Ramdani
  • International Students Officer: Thao Ha
  • Mental Health Equality Officer: Elliot Porter
  • Sexual Orientation Equality Officer: Dylan Beck

School Representatives

  • Business School: Julia Kamenova
  • School of Chemistry: Rafael Crespo Molina
  • School of Computing Science: Nina Hirstozova
  • School of Engineering: Anwar Abushaala
  • School of Geographical & Earth Sciences: Joshua MccAhill
  • School of Humanities: Hannah Todd
  • School of Mathematics and Statistics: Liam Bergin
  • School of Medicine: Haseeb Hamid
  • School of Psychology: Shutong Luan
  • School of Social and Political Sciences: James Richardson


Share this story

Follow us online