The new SRC Sabbatical Officers, Credit: Katy Scott

SRC election results announced

The new SRC Sabbatical Officers, Credit: Katy Scott

Katy Scott
News Editor

The Students’ Representative Council (SRC) elections closed at 5pm today, with the winners announced afterwards at 6:30pm.

Outgoing Vice President (VP) Education Kate Powell has been elected uncontested to the position of President with 1432 votes.

Outgoing representative for the School of Humanities, Hannah-May Todd, has been elected with 860 votes as next year’s VP Education, beating rival candidates Ali Bhatti and Jenny Benson.

Outgoing Disability Equality Officer Lauren “Shoogle” McDougall has been elected VP Student Support with 743 votes. The position was contested by Gender Equality Officer Thaïs Ramdani and previous Isabella Elder society President Tia Manavis.

Pritasha Kariappa, outgoing Charities, Clubs and Societies Officer, has been elected uncontested with 691 votes to the position of VP Student Activities.

Outgoing SRC President Ameer Ibrahim said: “I’m very happy to see everyone elected. I think that all candidates that took part this year ran very positive and engaging campaigns and it’s great to see so many positions filled for next year. I think it will be a really positive council and I look forward to seeing everyone’s projects going into the next annual cycle.”

Welfare and Equal Opportunities Officers

Age Equality Officer: Elliot Napier (513 votes)
Charities, Clubs and Societies Officer: Struan McLean (831 votes)
Disability Equality Officer: Emma Docherty (883 votes)
Environmental Officer: Rafael Crespo Molina (642 votes)
Gender Equality Officer: Vacant
Gender and Sexual Diversity Officer: Vacant
International Students Officer: Hussein El-Ajouz (709 votes)
Mental Health Equality Officer: Fatemeh Nokhbatolfoghahai (589 votes)
Race Equality Officer: Aleema Sardar (749 votes)

UG Convenors

UG Arts College Convenor: Vacant
UG MVLS College Convenor: Usman Abdul-Quayum (200 votes)
UG Science and Engineering Convenor: Bilal Khan (186 votes)
UG Social Sciences College Convenor: Josh Horsman (216 votes)

PG Convenors

PG Arts College Convenor: Natalie Finlayson (34 votes)
PG MVLS College Convenor: Kirstin Leslie (24 votes)
PG Science and Engineering Convenor: Vacant
PG Social Sciences College Convenor: Vacant
PG Taught Convenor: Vacant

School Representatives

Business School: Riccardo Demurtas (82 votes)
School of Chemistry: Kyle Brownson (35 votes)
School of Computing Science: Stephen Brown (54 votes)
School of Critical Studies: Leah Henssge (80 votes)
School of Culture and Creative Arts: Ryan Rutherford (63 votes)
School of Education: Vacant
School of Engineering: Mohammed Giga (218 votes)
School of Geographical & Earth Sciences: Vacant
School of Humanities: Emma Hardy (82 votes)
School of Interdisciplinary Studies: Leonie Lepple (24 votes)
School of Law: Harris Bin Shahid Mahmood (38 votes)
School of Life Sciences: Soud Alkhalaf (122 votes)
School of Mathematics and Statistics: Muhammad Fahd Asif (107 votes)
School of Medicine: Rafa Abushaala (136 votes)
School of Modern Languages and Cultures: Ellie Young (62
School of Physics and Astronomy: Haiqa Jamil (45 votes)
School of Psychology: Xenia Stieger (92 votes)
School of Social and Political Sciences: Claire McCormack (106 votes)
School of Veterinary Medicine: Antonia Da Fonseca Ioannou (35 votes)


Share this story

Follow us online