Blues Awards 2010 - 2011

A GUSA Blue is the highest individual sporting award presented at Glasgow University to the sportsmen and women who have consistently performed in an outstanding manner, excelling at an elite level throughout the previous season.


Colin McMorrin,Canoe

Louise Creechan,Fencing

Craig Moffat,Karate

Stephanie McDowall,Rowing[/table]

Half Blues


Catriona Dykes,Canoe

Chris Reid,Hockey

Craig Sinclair,Hockey

Rory McCann,Hockey

Claire Herbison,Riding

Ian Porteous,Swimming

Mannix O’Boyle,Waterpolo

Karen McIntyre,Mountaineering

Siobhan Ramos,Fencing

Laura Anderson,Fencing[/table]

Colours Awards 2010 - 2011

A GUSA Colour is an award presented to individuals who have consistently shown an outstanding level of commitment to university sport.

Colours Winners 2010-2011


Alys Dean,Netball

Abbie Sherwin,Women’s Hockey

Ben Robinson,Ski and Snowboard

Karen Byars,Riding

Craig Hay,Trampolining

Kirsty Boyd,Swimming and Waterpolo

Lauren Smith,Women’s Hockey

Michael Todd,Swimming and Waterpolo

Naomi Keirby,Netball

Nell McRae,Cheerleading

Paul Goley,Men’s Basketball

Rob Tyler,Men’s Hockey

Victoria Mader-Dunn,Riding

Iain Oliphant,Men’s Hockey

Gary Rodgers,Men’s Football

Hannah Lavelle,Women’s Hockey

John Nickell,Tennis

Matthew Perkins,Boxing[/table]

Awards 2010 - 2011

Justin Langham Memorial Trophy

Awarded to the most outstanding first year. This trophy is named in memory of Justin Langham, who died suddenly in his first year while at Glasgow University. Justin was a prominent member of the Lacrosse club with a bright future in the sport, picked to represent Scotland.

Rebecca Cooke Award for Best Sportswoman

Awarded to the most outstanding sports woman competing for The University of Glasgow. Commissioned in 2008 in recognition of Rebecca's outstanding sporting performances for both University and International level.

Bob Wilson Memorial Trophy for Best Sportsman

Awarded to the most outstanding sports man competing for The University of Glasgow. The trophy was gifted to GUSA by friends of the late Robert Brownlee Wilson, a forth year medical student and prominent sports man who died in 1966 as the result of a climbing accident on Skye. He represented Scottish Universities at Rugby, was an active member of the Ski and Squash clubs, as well as serving on the GUAC council organising the 1966 BUSF Ski Championships.

Millenium Team Trophy for Best Team

This is awarded to the most outstanding team affiliated to GUSA.

William Ross Cunningham Memorial Trophy for most outstanding club

This is awarded to the most outstanding club affiliated to GUSA. It was established in memory of a former Honorary President who had also been Chairman of the Committee of Management of Athletic Grounds, and for many was considered the Honorary President and most enthusiastic supporter of the Rugby Section.

GU Award for Development of Sport

This award was newly established in 2002. It was presented to GUSA by the University Court and is awarded annually to an individual who has contributed to the development of sport at the University of Glasgow.

GUSA Drinking Horn

Was commissioned by a previous Honorary President Professor Leake in 2002. It is to be awarded at the discretion of the Honorary President to the person or persons who made outstanding contributions to the achievements and organisation of GUSA.

GUSA Talking Stick

Awarded by the GUSA President to a non-student has who made an outstanding contribution to the achievements and organisation of GUSA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Similar posts

No related posts found!